Draft for review, version 0.6. Not for citation.This report is a draft and subject to change.
  1. Home
  2. Appendices

Appendix S12

S12. Cost inputs and techno-economic benchmarks

What it costs to make protein in Vietnam: power, water, heat, labour, land, taxes and commodity prices as of 2026, retail protein prices per 100 g of protein, verified techno-economic benchmarks, a tropical cooling estimate, and two indicative cost stacks (fungal feed protein and textured soy protein) with every line's basis. The textured-soy stack is built on listed Chinese equipment (USD 761 to 1,573 per t) and adds preferential tariffs: Chinese and ASEAN protein ingredients enter duty-free.

42 min readWhat the tags mean
On this page
  1. How to read this appendix
  2. Part one. Vietnamese input costs
  3. Part two. Commodity and retail prices
  4. Part three. Techno-economic benchmarks
  5. Part four. Vietnamese estimates
  6. Gaps and how to close them
  7. Related data files

This appendix holds the numbers behind Economics. Part one lists Vietnamese input costs in 2026: electricity, water, heat, labour, land, taxes and logistics. Part two gives commodity prices, the protein ingredients Vietnam imports and the retail prices of the proteins an alternative would replace. Part three sets out published techno-economic analyses (TEAs) that we checked against the papers, the spread in capital cost per m3, and what drives cost. Part four gives our tropical cooling estimate and two indicative Vietnamese cost stacks, with the basis of every line. The feed prices a product must beat are in Feed and aquafeed market; raw-material prices are in Feedstock data sheets.

How to read this appendix

  • Currency. We convert at 26,000 VND per USD. Vietcombank quoted 25,800 (buy) and 26,210 (sell) on 23 September 2026 1 . VND prices exclude VAT unless stated.
  • Three kinds of number. "Measured" numbers come from a tariff, law, price report or paper. "Our calculation" numbers are arithmetic on measured inputs, and show the inputs. "Assumption" numbers are engineering judgements with no Vietnamese source. The cost stacks label every line.
  • TEA checks. For each benchmark we say whether we read the full text, key excerpts or only the abstract. Only full-text or excerpt-checked values carry High confidence.
  • Indicative, not feasibility. The cost stacks are order-of-magnitude estimates to show which lines matter. They are not a feasibility study.

Part one. Vietnamese input costs

S12.1 Electricity

Manufacturing tariff (VND/kWh, excluding VAT; MOIT Decision 1279/QD-BCT of 9 May 2025, effective 10 May 2025) 2,3 :

VoltageOff-peakNormalPeakBlended 24/7 (our calculation)USD/kWh
110 kV and above1,1461,8113,2661,9050.073
22 to under 110 kV1,1901,8333,3981,9520.075
6 to under 22 kV1,2341,8993,5082,0200.078
Under 6 kV1,3001,9873,6402,1100.081
  • Time windows. MOIT Decision 963 (2026), effective 22 April 2026, moved the peak to the evening: peak 17:30 to 22:30 Monday to Saturday (30 hours a week), off-peak 00:00 to 06:00 every day (42 hours), normal all other hours (96 hours) 4 . We did not read the decision text directly.
  • Blended price for a plant that runs 24 hours a day = (30 x peak + 42 x off-peak + 96 x normal) / 168 hours. Example at 22 kV: (30 x 3,398 + 42 x 1,190 + 96 x 1,833) / 168 = 327,888 / 168 = 1,952 VND/kWh, about USD 0.075 (our calculation). Mid-size plants in industrial parks commonly connect at 22 kV, so we use 1,952 VND/kWh as the base case for a continuous fermentation plant. It excludes VAT and any future capacity charge.
  • Business tariff. If a pilot facility were classed as business rather than manufacturing, the under-6 kV tariff is 1,918 (off-peak), 3,152 (normal) and 5,422 (peak) VND/kWh 4 .
  • Average retail price. 2,204.0655 VND/kWh after a 4.8% rise on 10 May 2025. The press still quoted it in July 2026, so we found no increase between May 2025 and July 2026 2,5 .
  • More frequent adjustments. Decree 278/2026/ND-CP (reported effective about 9 July 2026) lets EVN move the average price by 2% to under 5% after a MOIT review; larger changes need higher approval 5 . We did not read the decree text.
  • Two-part tariff. A pilot of a capacity-plus-energy tariff started on 1 January 2026 for customers using 200,000 kWh or more a month at 22 kV or above. For all of 2026 they receive a reference ("shadow") bill beside the real one (Electricity Law 2024 Art 50; Decree 146/2025/ND-CP) 6 . No VND/kW rates were published. A capacity charge from 2027 could raise costs for plants with high peak demand.
  • Regional comparison. The GFI APAC and Hawkwood Biotech site-selection study used USD 0.08/kWh for Vietnam and scored Vietnam 97 of 100 on utilities; Indonesia (USD 0.07/kWh) scored 99 7 .

Direct power purchase (DPPA). Decree 57/2025/ND-CP set two models: a private wire, and a synthetic DPPA over the national grid. Buyers qualify at an average of 200,000 kWh a month or more (Circular 16/2025/TT-BCT, as summarised by a consultancy) 8 . A 10,000 t/yr fermentation plant using 1.5 to 3 kWh per kg would need about 1.25 to 2.5 GWh a month (our calculation), far above the threshold. Under the synthetic model the buyer pays the spot price, plus an EVN DPPA service charge of about 420 VND/kWh (2025 reference), plus the contract-for-difference settlement, plus retail top-up power 8 . The consultancy's worked example gives about 1,895 VND/kWh (spot about 1,100, service charge about 420, settlement about 180, and 10% top-up at retail), about 11% below its EVN comparison of about 2,128 VND/kWh 8 . Against our 24/7 baseline of 1,952 VND/kWh, the saving is only about 3% (our calculation, 1 - 1,895 / 1,952). The consultancy probably assumed more peak-hour use. Decree 243/2026/ND-CP (26 June 2026) amended Decree 57: it removed price caps on private-wire DPPA and widened participation to retailers, data centres and EV-charging operators 9 . The DPPA saving is modelled, single-source and could vanish under a capacity charge.

Grid emission factor. The latest official figure is 0.6592 tCO2/MWh for 2023, announced on 3 December 2024 (Official Letter 1726/BDKH-PTCBT) 10 . As of January 2026 there was no official 2024 or 2025 figure; researchers estimate 0.6811 (2024) and 0.6235 (2025) 11 . At the official factor, a process that uses 2 kWh of grid power per kg of product emits about 1.3 kg of CO2 per kg from power alone (our calculation, 2 x 0.6592). For comparison, one TEA puts the carbon intensity of hydrogen-based SCP at 0.73 kg CO2e per kg of protein, against 2.72 for fishmeal and 0.85 for soybean meal (abstract only) 12 . A "low-carbon protein" claim for a power-hungry process in Vietnam needs a DPPA or on-site solar. The revised national power plan targets 28 to 36% non-hydro renewable generation by 2030 13 .

S12.2 Water and wastewater

Location (current name)Production water priceBasisSourceLabel
Ho Chi Minh City (Ben Thanh Water area)12,100 VND/m3 base; 16,625 VND/m3 all-in (about USD 0.64), including 5% VAT, a 3,630 VND drainage and wastewater service charge and 8% tax on that service2026, unchanged from 202514
Ho Chi Minh City (former Binh Duong), BIWASE13,800 VND/m3 retail for manufacturing; 13,100 wholesale to industrial parkssince 2022, excluding VAT15
Hanoi16,000 VND/m3 for production (business services 29,000)from 1 January 2024 (Decision 3541/QD-UBND)16
Dong Nai (including former Binh Phuoc)not foundn/anone
Industrial parks (broker listings)water about USD 0.5/m3; wastewater treatment USD 0.28/m3 (VSIP II) to USD 0.40/m3 (Nam Thang Long, Hanoi)undated17,18
  • Check: 12,100 x 1.05 + 3,630 x 1.08 = 12,705 + 3,920 = 16,625 VND/m3 (our calculation).
  • Industrial parks set the wastewater charge as F = f x V x K, where K is a pollution coefficient based on COD. Spent fermentation broth may therefore pay a multiple of the base fee, or need treatment on site first.
  • Water is a minor cost in both cost stacks below.

S12.3 Heat and fuel

  • LPG. A 45 kg industrial cylinder cost 2,212,000 VND in Ho Chi Minh City and 2,115,072 VND in Hanoi in September 2026, about 49,000 VND/kg (USD 1.89) in Ho Chi Minh City including VAT. The Saudi contract price was USD 642.5/t, up from USD 630 in August 19 . Bulk contracts are cheaper.
  • Biomass. Rice husk pellets list at 2,190 VND/kg (unit inferred) with 3,200 to 3,900 kcal/kg; wood pellets 3,090 VND/kg; wood shavings 2,790 VND/kg (supplier list, December 2025) 20 . Wood pellets exported at USD 120 to 145/t FOB in Q1 2025 21 . Ajinomoto's Bien Hoa MSG plant burns about 100,000 t of rice husk a year 22 .
  • Steam, fuel only (our calculation). At 640 kcal per kg of steam, 3,200 to 3,900 kcal per kg of husk pellets and 75 to 85% boiler efficiency, one kg of steam needs 0.19 to 0.27 kg of pellets, or 420 to 585 VND of fuel 20. A supplier claims 830 to 870 VND per kg of steam all-in, using wood pellets at 85 to 87% efficiency 21 . The gap is operation, maintenance, capital and labour. We found no published steam tariffs from industrial parks.
  • Natural gas and CNG. Not published. Gas South prices industrial CNG per customer, indexed to fuel oil or LPG 23 .

S12.4 Labour

ItemValueSourceLabel
Minimum wage from 1 January 2026, Region I5,310,000 VND/month (about USD 204); 25,500 VND/hour24
Region II4,730,000 VND/month; 22,700 VND/hour24
Region III4,140,000 VND/month; 20,000 VND/hour24
Region IV3,700,000 VND/month; 17,800 VND/hour24
Average monthly income of employees, Q2 20269.0 million VND (about USD 346), up 0.72 million year on year25
Manufacturing wage used by the GFI APAC and Hawkwood studyUSD 342/month (labour score 100, shared with Indonesia at USD 350)7
Employer contributions17.5% social insurance + 3% health + 1% unemployment + 2% trade-union fee = about 23.5% of insured salary (employee pays 10.5%)not re-read in this study
Engineer, biotech and QA salariesnot foundnone
  • Regions. Region I covers the urban wards of Ho Chi Minh City and Hanoi and the Bien Hoa area of Dong Nai.
  • Workforce assumption used in the cost stacks. A skilled plant workforce averaging 12 to 20 million VND/month gross, with 13 months of pay and 23.5% on-costs, costs USD 7,400 to 12,350 per full-time employee (FTE) a year (our calculation, 12 to 20 million x 13 x 1.235 / 26,000). This is an assumption, not a survey figure.

S12.5 Land and buildings

Q2 2026, Cushman & Wakefield 26,27 :

MarketIndustrial land, USD/m2 for the remaining lease termOccupancyReady-built factory, USD/m2/monthReady-built warehouse, USD/m2/month
South average186.4not given4.94.6
Ho Chi Minh City (including former Binh Duong and Ba Ria-Vung Tau)187.586.1%5.14.5
Dong Nai (including former Binh Phuoc)189.673.1%4.94.7
Tay Ninh (including former Long An)179.660.9%4.64.8
North average (Hanoi, Bac Ninh, Hung Yen, Hai Phong, Phu Tho, Ninh Binh)137.7Hanoi near full5.04.9
  • Industrial land is cheaper in the north; ready-built factory rents are about the same in both regions. Ready-built factory occupancy was 89.7 to 94.3% in the south and about 86% in the north 26,27 .
  • Construction cost. The Ministry of Construction's Decision 409/QD-BXD (11 April 2025, Q4 2024 price basis, 10% VAT included) contains official investment rates, but its industrial chapter was not readable 28 . The only figure we have is the GFI APAC and Hawkwood input of USD 1,672/m2 for Vietnam (construction score 93), against USD 1,487/m2 for Indonesia (score 100) 7 .

S12.6 Taxes and duties

  • VAT on feed. Under the Law on VAT 48/2024/QH15 (Art 5(3), in force 1 July 2025), animal feed and aquafeed are "not subject to VAT" 29 . "Not subject" is not the same as zero-rated: a plant making a feed protein cannot reclaim the VAT it pays on equipment, power and inputs. Feed millers can no longer deduct the 5% VAT they paid on inputs 30 . By our estimate, at 10% VAT on roughly half to all of costs, this adds about 5 to 10% to a feed-protein plant's taxed input costs. A food-ingredient plant, taxed at 8 or 10%, can reclaim input VAT. Whether a new feed ingredient such as SCP automatically counts as "animal feed" for VAT is an open question.
  • Other VAT rates. The standard rate is 10%. The 5% rate covers clean water, fertiliser and unprocessed farm products at the commercial stage (Art 9(2)) 29 . A temporary cut from 10% to 8% for many goods has applied since 1 July 2025 (Resolution 204/2025/QH15; Decree 174/2025/ND-CP), and it ends on 31 December 2026 31,32 . Goods subject to excise are excluded from the cut; from 1 January 2026 that includes sugary drinks above 5 g of sugar per 100 ml (MOF Letter 17380/BTC-CST) 33 . Fresh meat, fish and eggs are not subject to VAT at the producer and import stage and pay 5% at the trading stage; processed foods, plant-based or not, including tofu, chay foods, plant-based meat, processed meat and protein ingredients, pay 10% (8% to the end of 2026) 29,32 . So a processed protein product carries a 3 to 5 point VAT handicap against fresh meat at the trading stage, and we found no VAT, excise or income-tax line that favours plant-based or high-protein foods (our reading). Import VAT on food ingredients is creditable for a VAT-registered buyer, so it does not change the comparison between domestic and imported ingredients.
  • Corporate income tax (CIT). Law 67/2025/QH15 sets a standard rate of 20% with preferential rates for encouraged sectors and areas. Decree 320/2025/ND-CP (15 December 2025) adds two tests that matter for alternative protein. First, the exemption for processed farm and aquatic products needs agricultural or aquatic raw materials to be at least 30% of production cost; a cassava-based fermentation plant probably passes, and a plant running on imported refined sugar may not (our interpretation). Second, income from products made with a technology applied for the first time in Vietnam is exempt for 3 years, once an authority confirms the technology is new 34 . The chapter on high-technology projects (10% for 15 years; 4 years' exemption plus 9 years at 50%) did not render. The GFI APAC and Hawkwood study cites Vietnamese incentives of cash support up to 10% of new fixed assets, 10% CIT for 15 years, and a 4-year tax holiday plus 9 years at 50% 7 .
  • Import duty on machinery. Imported fixed-asset goods of projects in incentivised sectors or areas are exempt (Decree 134/2016/ND-CP Art 14, as amended by Decree 18/2021/ND-CP). We did not read the texts; see S9. Regulation.
  • Import duty on protein inputs (MFN, and preferential rates for China, ASEAN and Korea, 2025 to 2027) 35,36,37,38,39 :
HS codeProductMFN rate (latest found)ACFTA, ATIGA, AKFTA and RCEP
1201.90Soybeans0%not checked (MFN is 0%)
2304.00.29, 2304.00.90Soybean meal0% (from 31 March 2025)0%
2304.00.21Defatted soy flour for human food2% (VNTR shows 0%)0%
1208.10Full-fat soy flour and meal8%0%
1005.90.99Feed maize0% (from 31 March 2025; was 2%)not checked (MFN is 0%)
2301.20Fishmeal0%not checked (MFN is 0%)
1109Wheat gluten10%0%
2106.10Protein concentrates and textured protein5%0%
3504Peptones and other protein substances3%0%
2102.10Active yeast10%0% (AKFTA not checked)
2102.20Inactive yeast and other dead single-cell organisms7%0% (AKFTA not checked)

Feed protein enters duty-free, so domestic novel feed proteins get no tariff shelter. Food protein ingredients carry small MFN duties, but only on origins without a trade agreement, chiefly the United States. Chinese, ASEAN and Korean product pays 0% with a certificate of origin, so a domestic textured-protein, gluten or single-cell-protein maker has no tariff edge over Chinese product 38,39 . A maker buying full-fat soy flour from the United States would pay 8% while Chinese textured protein enters free. The MFN column of MOIT's trade repository is out of date for lines amended in 2025, so MFN rates were taken only for lines no amending decree touched 38 . Whether importers actually claim the preference is not known.

S12.7 Logistics

Not established. The only data point: in March and April 2026, as oil prices rose with the Middle East conflict, the press reported logistics costs up 20 to 30% for international and 15 to 20% for domestic transport 40 . Trucking cost per tonne-km, container rates to Singapore or Shanghai and cold-chain rates are gaps.


Part two. Commodity and retail prices

S12.8 Commodity prices

Commodity (market)January 2025March 2026August 2026Per t of protein, latestSourcesLabel
Fishmeal, Peru 65%, CIF (World Bank series)USD 1,581/t (2025 average 1,706)USD 1,837/tUSD 2,500/tUSD 3,846 (August 2026); USD 2,625 (2025 average)41,42,43
Soybean meal, Argentine 45/46%, CIF RotterdamUSD 368/t (low 335 in July 2025; 2025 average 366)USD 404/tUSD 403/tabout USD 876 (46% CP)44,42
Soybeans, US, CIF RotterdamUSD 411/tUSD 473/tUSD 482/tnot given45,42
Maize, US No. 2, FOB GulfUSD 214/tUSD 213/tUSD 224/tnot given46,42
Urea, bulk (World Bank series)USD 472/t (February 2026)USD 726/tUSD 390/t (Q2 2026 average 693.5)not given47,42
Raw sugar (ISA)USD 0.40/kgUSD 0.33/kgUSD 0.38/kgnot given48,42
Maize, Vietnam import unit valuenot givenabout USD 251/t CIF (H1 2026; June 258)not givennot given49
Urea, Phu My (Vietnam)not given553,100 VND per 50 kg bag = 11,062 VND/kg, about USD 425/tnot givennot given40
Compound hog feed (Vietnam retail)not given360,000 to 370,000 VND per bag (bag size not stated)not givennot given40
Live hog (Vietnam farm gate)not given65,000 VND/kg live weight (April 2026)not givennot given50
Paddy IR50404 and 5%-broken milled rice (Vietnam)not given5,326 and 14,000 VND/kgnot givennot given40
  • Corn origins. Vietnam imported 6.8 Mt of corn in H1 2026 (up 53% year on year) worth USD 1.71 bn; in January to May, Brazil supplied 44%, Argentina 31% and India 0.5 Mt, a new source, at unit values of USD 247 (Brazil), 252 (Argentina) and 252/t (India) 49 .
  • Urea. A second press series gave world urea at USD 674/t in March 2026 40; the direction (a sharp spring rise) agrees with the World Bank series, which fell back to USD 390/t by August 42.
  • Cassava, rice by-products and sugar. Vietnamese prices are in Feedstock data sheets: fresh cassava roots 3,000 to 3,550 VND/kg (April 2026), native starch 12,500 to 13,200 VND/kg and USD 520 to 540/t FOB, domestic refined sugar about 16,505 VND/kg (June 2026), rice bran 7,300 to 7,650 VND/kg (September 2026) 51,52,53,54 .
  • Gaps. Vietnamese domestic fishmeal prices by grade (55, 60, 65% CP), domestic soybean meal in VND/kg, DDGS, meat and bone meal, poultry by-product meal, fish oil, glucose syrup, bulk molasses and ammonium sulphate.

S12.9 Protein ingredients Vietnam imports

2023, UN Comtrade via WITS 56,57,58 :

HS codeProductImport valueQuantity (likely imputed)Unit valueMain origins
1109Wheat glutenUSD 31.06 M12,337 tUSD 2.52/kgChina 59%, Australia, France
2106.10Protein concentrates and textured protein substancesUSD 33.98 M5,763 tUSD 5.90/kgUnited States 46%, China 27%
3504Peptones and other protein substances (including some isolates)USD 22.18 M2,421 tUSD 9.16/kgChina 45%, United States

Every partner shows exactly the same unit value, which suggests the database estimated the quantities. Treat values as reliable and unit values as weak. HS 2106.10 also includes nutrition premixes, so it is not a clean TVP price. There is no separate code for pea protein. We found no global benchmark prices for soy protein isolate, soy protein concentrate, TVP or pea protein.

S12.10 Retail prices of the proteins an alternative would replace, per 100 g of protein

ProductRetail priceProtein, g per 100 gVND per 100 g of proteinUSD per 100 g of proteinSourceLabel
Chicken eggs (box of 10)2,400 VND per egg6 to 7 g per egg (assumed)34,300 to 40,0001.32 to 1.5459
Chicken breast fillet with skin90,900 VND/kg20 to 23 (assumed)39,500 to 45,5001.52 to 1.7560
Chicken thigh meat79,210 VND/kg17 to 19 (assumed)41,700 to 46,6001.60 to 1.7960
Pork leg115,000 VND/kg18 to 20 (assumed)57,500 to 63,9002.21 to 2.4661
Lean pork132,000 VND/kg19 to 21 (assumed)62,900 to 69,5002.42 to 2.6761
White tofu (Coop Select)36,429 VND/kg9.3 (label)39,2001.5162
Firm tofu (Ichiban momen)47,576 VND/kg8.92 (label)53,3002.0562
White tofu (Tafu)36,333 VND/kg4.71 (label)77,1002.9762
Dried soy "chops" (An Nhien)326,667 VND/kg64 (label)51,0001.9662
Imported plant-based burger (Unconventional)813,636 VND/kg15 (label)542,40020.8662
  • Meat and egg prices are Bach Hoa Xanh online, Ho Chi Minh City, 23 September 2026, many at small promotional discounts. Tofu and analogues are from our field audit in Ho Chi Minh City on 16 and 20 September 2026. Meat protein contents are typical food-composition values, not re-checked against the Vietnamese Food Composition Table. Retail pangasius was not found.
  • Retail audit medians (VND per 100 g of protein, September 2026): tofu 66,265 (5 SKUs; range 39,171 to 121,053); dried TVP and soy chunks 64,584 (4 SKUs; range 48,976 to 85,053); frozen meat and seafood analogues 278,667 (9 SKUs); protein powders 359,537 (4 SKUs); plant milks 456,250 (8 SKUs) 63 . See S2. Retail formulation audit.
  • Reading. Chicken and eggs set the retail floor at about 34,000 to 46,600 VND per 100 g of protein. Tofu sits at a similar level. Dried soy analogues are already priced near chicken on a protein basis. Printed tofu protein varies two-fold between labels, so label-based comparisons are fragile.

Part three. Techno-economic benchmarks

S12.11 Verified TEA benchmarks

ProcessProduct (grade)ScaleMetricValueCost basisFull text read?SourceLabel
Continuous airlift fermentation of F. venenatumMycoprotein, wet, about 27% solids (food)2,000 kg/h wet (about 17,500 t/yr wet, 4,700 t/yr dry); 2 x 155 m3 airliftMinimum production costUSD 3.55/kg wet; USD 29.56/kg protein; processed Quorn-like product USD 4.03/kg2022, US, labour USD 20/hYes (core sections)64
SameSameSameTotal capital cost before financingUSD 108 M (reactors 66.7%; one 155 m3 stainless reactor about USD 42 M, the second about USD 29 M)2022Yes64
SameTexturing plantDownstreamCapex, texturing onlyUSD 13.8 M (chiller over 44%)2022Yes64
Quorn reference (cited in the TEA)Mycoprotein155 m3 airliftOutput per reactor2 t/h wet; continuous runs of about 1,000 h at 10 to 15 g/L2019 disclosureNo (secondary)64
ICI Pruteen (historical)Bacterial SCP (feed)1,500 m3 airlift, 1979 to 1987Scale and priceSold at about twice the price of soy protein in 1983; closed 19871980sNo (secondary)64
Gas to acetate, then aerobic acetate to SCP (C. necator)SCP (feed) from steel-mill off-gas20,000 t/yr; 11 x 432 m3 airlift + 5 x 299 m3 stirred tanksUnit production costUSD 4.15/kg (USD 2.78/kg if intensified); facility-dependent costs 58%, utilities 18%about 2022 to 2023Partial (key excerpts)65
SameSameSameCapital investmentUSD 320 Mabout 2022 to 2023Partial65
H2 and CO2 gas fermentation (wind electrolysis, ethanol-plant CO2)SCP (feed)not stated in abstractMinimum selling priceUSD 2,070/t SCPabout 2023, USNo (abstract only)12
Hydrogen-oxidising bacteria on renewable electricityProtein (food or feed)Benchmark plant 16.42 kt SCP/yrProtein cost at optimal sitesEUR 5.5 to 6.1/kg (2028); EUR 4.0 to 4.5 (2030); EUR 2.1 to 2.3 (2050). Vietnamese site values not extractedprojectionsPartial (abstract and excerpts)66
Solar Foods Factory 01Solein (food)Vantaa, FinlandMaximum capacity160 t/yr; production started spring 2024; H1 2026 revenue EUR 0.1 McompanyCompany report67
Solar Foods Factory 02 (planned)Solein (food)Capacity not statedPublic funding committedEUR 77.8 M (EUR 39.6 M grant + EUR 38.1 M R&D loan); investment decision planned for 2026; total capex not disclosed2026Company report67
Calysta and Calysseo methanotroph SCPFeedKind (feed)Chongqing, ChinaNameplate capacity20,000 t/yr; capex not found2022 onwardNo (tertiary)68
Liberation Bioindustries (precision-fermentation contract manufacturer)Recombinant food proteinsRichmond, IndianaFermentation volume600 m3; operations 2026; more than half of capacity contracted or in negotiation (January 2026); capex not disclosed2026Press release69
Animal cell culture, fed batch (conceptual)Cultured meat, wet cells24 x 20 m3; 6.8 kt/yrCost of productionUSD 37/kg (amino acids about USD 19/kg; growth factors about USD 3/kg); capital charge factor 15% a yearabout 2020, USPartial (excerpts)70
Animal cell culture, perfusion (conceptual)Cultured meat, wet cells6.9 kt/yrTotal capital investment and costUSD 663 M; USD 51/kg; 132 FTEabout 2020Partial70
Animal cell culture (industry-scale)Cultivated meat540 t/yrCost of productionUSD 63/kgabout 2022No (secondary citation)71
Animal cell culture, three reactor sizesCultivated beefabout 42,000 L and largerCost by reactor scalenot extracted; do not quote2022 to 2023No (truncated abstract)72
Plant-based meat by freeze alignment (Thai-authored; modelled with Japanese wages)Meat analogue100 t/yrTotal capital; minimum selling priceUSD 1.76 to 2.48 M; USD 1.18 per 100 g; raw material 32% and labour 24% of cost; not comparable with extrusion2023No (publisher page summary)73
Dry textured vegetable protein, Chinese lines (marketplace listings)Dry TVP (food)200 to 1,500 kg/hListed price per complete line with dryerUSD 11,000 to 100,000 a set (list prices, not quotes); installed in Vietnam about USD 0.28 to 1.38 M (our calculation, S12.16)2026Listings74,75,76,77
Precision-fermentation food proteinWhey or egg proteinsn/aMinimum selling priceNo peer-reviewed TEA verifiedn/an/anone
High-moisture extrusion, Chinese lines (marketplace listings)Wet meat analogue10 to 600 kg/hListed price per lineUSD 88,000 to 90,000 a set (list price)2026Listing78,79
Plant protein isolateIsolatesn/aCapex and opexNo verified benchmark foundn/an/anone

Notes on the mycoprotein TEA 64 . The model runs 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, assumes 5% financing over 20 years and fixed costs of 3% of annualised capex, and excludes land, working capital and start-up. The authors compare USD 29.56 per kg of protein with about USD 29.95 for choice beef and about USD 9.64 for chicken, and conclude that mycoprotein can match beef on protein cost but "will not be an economic alternative for inexpensive products such as chicken". Buying food-grade biotin and zinc sulphate instead of lab grade cut cost by 22%.

S12.12 Capital cost per m3 and per annual tonne

SourcePlantTotal capexReactor volumeCapex per m3 (our calculation)Capex per annual tonne (our calculation)
Vlaeminck et al. 2023 65Feed SCP, 20 kt/yrUSD 320 M6,247 m3about USD 51,000USD 16,000 (dry)
Risner et al. 2023 64Food mycoprotein, about 4.7 kt/yr dryUSD 108 M310 m3about USD 350,000about USD 22,800 (dry); about USD 6,200 (wet)
Humbird 2021 70Cultured meat, perfusion, 6.9 kt/yr wetUSD 663 Mnot givennot givenabout USD 96,000 (wet cells)

Capex per m3 of reactor differs about 7-fold between the two verified microbial studies (our calculation, 350,000 / 51,000) . The spread comes from design choices (large, low-cost airlift reactors versus many small reactors), hygiene grade (feed versus food) and the estimating method. We do not average them. A Vietnamese plan should build its own equipment-level estimate rather than borrow one figure.

S12.13 Where the cost is: why cheap labour and power matter less than capital

  • The GFI APAC and Hawkwood representative models. In the study's own plant models, labour is 7% of production cost for submerged biomass (80,000 t/yr) and 17% for precision fermentation (10,000 t/yr); utilities are 4 to 5%; depreciation (capital) is 37 to 56% 7 . Feedstock is 10% (biomass) and 18% (precision fermentation) in those models, but the same report's text cites 35 to 65% (biomass) and 30 to 45% (precision fermentation) across other TEAs 7. The models were run for a US Midwest plant on corn glucose, not for any Asian site.
  • Vietnam's scores in that study (0 to 100, 100 = best): labour 100, utilities 97, construction cost 93, business environment 30, sugar capability 26, talent 26, regulatory readiness 0. Indonesia scores the same or better on every cost factor 7 .
  • Our own stack agrees. In the fungal feed-protein stack below, capital charge plus maintenance is 54% of cost at the low end and 67% at the high end (our calculation). In the off-gas SCP TEA, facility-dependent costs are 58% and utilities 18% 65 .
  • Reading. Vietnam's cost advantage acts on a small share of cost. Capital, feedstock and the price of the protein being replaced decide the case.

Part four. Vietnamese estimates

S12.14 Tropical cooling (indicative estimate)

We found no published analysis of fermentation cooling in hot, humid climates, and no study that quantifies the cooling cost saved by thermotolerant strains in a tropical plant 80 . So we built an indicative estimate from general engineering rules. Label: for the result.

StepInputValueSource or basis
Heat released by aerobic growth460 kJ per mol of O2 consumedat 0.83 to 1.25 kg O2 per kg of dry biomass: 12 to 18 MJ, or 3.3 to 5.0 kWh of heat, per kg81 (rule cited from Roels 1983)
Agitation and aeration powernot a cooling costabout 0.5 to 1.0 kWh per kgassumption
Scale checkBaker's yeast plant, 7 x 150 m3 bubble columns, Germanyremoves about 11 MW on average, about 10.5 kW per m382
Cooling water in southern Vietnamdesign wet-bulb about 27 to 28 Ccooling towers deliver water at about 31 to 33 Cassumption (not sourced)
Broth temperatureFusarium, Aspergillus, most yeasts28 to 32 C, so the coolant must be about 5 to 20 C: mostly chilled waterassumption
Temperate comparisondesign wet-bulb about 18 to 20 Ctower water about 23 to 25 C; cooling water covers most hoursassumption
Relative utility costcooling water versus chilled watercooling water is 4 to 8 times cheaper per unit of heat81 (Towler and Sinnott)
Chiller powertemperate design 0.56 kW per ton of refrigerationtropical assumption 0.75 to 0.9 kW per ton including pumps and fans, a system COP of about 4.0 to 4.783; assumption
Chilled-water electricity3.3 to 5.0 kWh heat / COP, plus pumps0.81 to 1.5 kWh per kg of dry biomass (against 0.10 to 0.15 with cooling water only)our calculation
Energy penalty0.7 to 1.35 kWh per kg x USD 0.075 to 0.078 per kWhUSD 52 to 105 per tonneour calculation
Chiller capex10 kt/yr, 8,000 h/yr; peak 1,750 to 3,200 tons of refrigeration x USD 800 to 1,500 per ton installedUSD 1.4 to 4.8 M, or USD 21 to 72 per tonne a year at a 15% capital chargeour calculation; unit cost assumed
Total penaltyenergy plus capitalabout USD 70 to 180 per tonne of dry biomassour calculation
  • Size of the penalty. USD 70 to 180/t is roughly 2 to 4% of the indicative cost of fungal feed protein in most cases, and 1 to 8% at the extremes (our calculation, against USD 2,227 to 6,612/t). The extra cooling electricity (0.7 to 1.35 kWh/kg) is about half to 1.7 times the plant's other electricity use (0.8 to 1.5 kWh/kg), but electricity is a small share of total cost.
  • Avoiding it. Strains that grow at 40 to 45 C can use tower water. Kluyveromyces marxianus SS106, isolated from Thai cassava pulp, reached 39 to 46 g/L of cell mass at 40 C on raw cassava starch 84 . A model of a 600 m3 bubble column on ethanol found that a 30 C broth needs chilled water while a 45 C broth can use cooling water; the same model could make up to 58 kt/yr of SCP 81 . Hybrid pre-cooling with tower water also removes much of the penalty.

S12.15 Cost stack A: fungal biomass protein for feed

Submerged aerobic fermentation on sugar, dried, 45 to 55% CP; 10,000 t/yr; USD per tonne of product; 2026 prices at 26,000 VND/USD; excluding VAT, sales, distribution and profit. Indicative, not a feasibility study. Label for the result: .

LineLowHighBasisType
Carbon (2.0 to 2.2 t of glucose equivalent per t; yield 0.45 to 0.50 g/g)6001,100USD 300 to 500/t of glucose equivalent. The low end is near world raw sugar (USD 330/t in March 2026 48; USD 380/t in August 2026 42); the high end is a refined cassava starch or syrup assumption. Near-free residues (cassava pulp) could cut this line but need pretreatment (Feedstock data sheets)assumption on measured prices
Nitrogen (0.17 to 0.20 t of urea per t)72145Phu My urea USD 425/t (March 2026) 40 to the world spike of USD 726/t (March 2026) 47. World urea fell back to USD 390/t by August 2026 42, so the low end is not understatedmeasured prices; assumed use
Minerals, vitamins, antifoam, enzymes50150Assumption; trace ingredients can matter (food-grade biotin and zinc cut mycoprotein cost by 22%) 64assumption
Electricity excluding cooling (0.8 to 1.5 kWh/kg)581171,895 VND/kWh (DPPA example) 8 to 2,020 VND/kWh (6 to 22 kV blended) 2measured price; assumed use
Cooling electricity (0.1 to 1.5 kWh/kg)7117S12.14: from a thermotolerant or cooling-water case to full chilled waterour estimate
Steam (4.5 to 6.5 t per t, for sterilisation, cleaning and drying)78218450 to 870 VND per kg of steam, from the husk-pellet calculation 20 and the supplier claim 21measured prices; assumed use
Water and wastewater (20 to 40 m3 per t)1858USD 0.64/m3 water 14 plus USD 0.28 to 0.80/m3 treatment including a COD surcharge 17,18measured prices; assumed use and surcharge
Labour (60 to 100 FTE)44124USD 7,400 to 12,350 per FTE a year (S12.4; above the NSO average) 24,25assumption on measured wages
Land (5 to 8 ha)99185USD 186/m2 for the lease term 26, annualised over 30 to 40 years at 10 to 12%measured price; assumed area
Capital charge (capex USD 8,000 to 20,000 per annual t; 12 to 18% a year)9603,600Capex set below and at the verified TEAs (USD 16,000 to 22,800 per annual t) 64,65, allowing 20 to 40% localisation savings; charge factor brackets Humbird's 15% 70assumption anchored on TEAs
Maintenance and insurance (3 to 4% of capex)240800Assumptionassumption
Total, USD per t of product2,2276,612= 58,000 to 172,000 VND/kg (our calculation)
USD per t of protein4,05014,700Low at 55% CP (2,227 / 0.55); high at 45% CP (6,612 / 0.45) (our calculation)

Comparison with fishmeal (updated). Fishmeal protein cost about USD 2,625 per tonne at the 2025 average price and USD 3,846 in August 2026 42 . The low end of the stack (USD 4,050 per tonne of protein) is therefore about 54% above fishmeal at the 2025 average and about 5% above it at the August 2026 price (our calculation, 4,050 / 2,625 and 4,050 / 3,846). Soybean-meal protein (about USD 880 per tonne) is 4.6 to 5.1 times cheaper than the low end (Feed and aquafeed market).

Sensitivities (our calculation).

  • Near-free carbon. Removing the USD 600 carbon line from the low case gives USD 1,627 per tonne of product, about USD 2,960 per tonne of protein at 55% CP: below fishmeal protein at the August 2026 price (USD 3,846), but still about 13% above the 2025 average (USD 2,625).
  • Capital. The low case already assumes capex of USD 8,000 per annual tonne, half of the lowest verified TEA. At the verified USD 16,000 to 22,800 per annual tonne, the capital charge alone would be USD 1,920 to 4,100 per tonne of product at 12 to 18% (our calculation).
  • Capital dominates. Capital charge plus maintenance is 54% of the low case ((960 + 240) / 2,227) and 67% of the high case ((3,600 + 800) / 6,612) (our calculation).
  • Published feed TEAs agree. Minimum selling prices of USD 2,070 to 4,150 per tonne of SCP 65,12 also sit at or above fishmeal on a protein basis.

Not included, and pushing the high case up. Because feed is not subject to VAT, input VAT on capex and taxed inputs is not reclaimable, adding about 5 to 10% on those inputs (S12.6). The feed-ingredient listing process also takes time (6 to 18 months by our estimate; Feed and aquafeed market).

S12.16 Cost stack B: textured soy protein (TVP)

Dry TVP from food-grade, low-temperature defatted soy flour by low-moisture extrusion on a Chinese-equipped line; two line sizes (0.5 and 1 t/h) at 50, 70 and 90% utilisation of 8,000 hours a year; USD per tonne of product; 2026 prices; including delivery to the buyer, a capital charge and working-capital interest; excluding VAT, sales and profit. Protein taken as 52%. Indicative. Rebuilt from the textured-protein investor card (W7-L5); the full rows are in t1_cost_per_kg.csv. Label for the result: .

Inputs.

LineValue usedBasisType
Food-grade defatted soy flour, deliveredUSD 627 to 925 per t; 1.03 to 1.07 t per t of product (USD 646 to 990 per t of product)Low: China's soybean-meal exports to Vietnam at USD 604 per t FOB in 2025 (28,158 t, grade unknown) plus 3% freight. High: Indian and Dutch soy flour at USD 783 to 896 per t FOB (2024 and 2025), USD 850 used, plus 5% freight, 2% MFN duty and USD 15 per t local 85,86,36measured trade prices; grade assumed
Electricity150 to 350 kWh per t at 1,952 VND per kWh (22 kV, 24-hour blend)Supply-chapter range, supported by the power ratings in the listings (80 to 311 kWh per t) 2,75,87measured price; assumed use
Dryer heat; water and wastewater; B2B bags; outbound delivery0.4 to 0.8 t of steam per t; USD 2 to 7; USD 10 to 20; USD 10 to 30 per tAs stack A; assumptions 20,21measured price; assumed use
Labour18 to 28 FTE (0.5 t/h) or 22 to 34 FTE (1 t/h) at USD 5,560 to 12,350 per FTE a yearLow: average income of 9.0 million VND a month, 13 months, 23.5% on-costs; high: 20 million VND 24,25assumption on measured wages
Rent1,500 to 2,000 m2 (0.5 t/h) or 2,000 to 3,000 m2 (1 t/h) at USD 4.9 to 5.1 per m2 a monthReady-built factory, Q2 2026 26,27measured price; assumed area
Installed capexUSD 0.28 to 1.0 M (0.5 t/h); USD 0.32 to 1.38 M (1 t/h)Listed Chinese line with dryer at USD 30,000 to 300,000 (up to three times list), plus freight, installation, utilities, bagging and QA, food-grade fit-out, certification and a 15% contingency (our calculation) 75,76,77listings plus assumptions
Capital charge; maintenance12 to 18% of installed capex; 4 to 6% a yearSupply-chapter range; assumptionassumption
QA, certification, insurance, administrationUSD 60,000 to 150,000 a yearAssumptionassumption
Working capital and interest3 to 4 months of revenue at parity (USD 0.72 to 1.73 M at 0.5 t/h; 1.44 to 3.46 M at 1 t/h); 8 to 10% a yearAssumption: 1.5 months of imported flour, 1 month of stock for lunar peaks, 1.5 months of receivablesassumption

Results.

Line sizeUtilisationOutput, t a yearFull cost, low case, USD per tFull cost, high case, USD per tRaw material shareCapital charge, USD per tVND per 100 g of protein
0.5 t/h50%2,0008581,57375% to 63%17 to 914,290 to 7,860
0.5 t/h70%2,8008161,45079% to 68%12 to 654,080 to 7,250
0.5 t/h90%3,6007931,38281% to 72%9 to 503,970 to 6,910
1 t/h50%4,0008001,41481% to 70%9 to 624,000 to 7,070
1 t/h70%5,6007741,33783% to 74%7 to 443,870 to 6,680
1 t/h90%7,2007611,29485% to 77%5 to 343,800 to 6,470

Our calculation 85,86,2,24,25,26 . The low case pairs all low inputs and the high case all high inputs. With a European-grade line (unverified; USD 2.0 to 5.6 M installed on the earlier equipment assumption of USD 1.5 to 4.0 M), the capital charge would be USD 33 to 181 per t.

Reading.

  • Flour is the cost. Raw material is 63 to 85% of full cost. The two cases differ by USD 344 per t on flour alone; all other costs together run USD 115 to 304 per t at 1 t/h and 90%, and up to USD 583 at 0.5 t/h and 50%. Scale and utilisation matter only in the high-cost case (our calculation).
  • Equipment is not the barrier. With Chinese equipment the capital charge is USD 5 to 91 per t, 1 to 6% of full cost. Working capital, USD 0.6 to 3.5 M, is the larger funding need .
  • The competitor lands inside the domestic range. In 2025 China shipped HS 2106.10 to Vietnam at USD 1.24 per kg FOB (10,201 t), its lowest price to any of eight Asian and US partners (world average USD 1.95) 85,88 . Landed at the 0% ACFTA or RCEP duty it actually pays, it costs about USD 1.29 to 1.38 per kg (USD 1.35 to 1.44 if the 5% MFN duty applied) 85,89,38 . India shipped 2,372 t at USD 0.98 per kg, which lands at about USD 1.08 to 1.15 89 . The domestic full cost is USD 0.76 to 1.57 per kg, so the delivered flour price decides the margin (our calculation; t1_landed_competitor.csv).
  • Margin and breakeven. At Chinese parity with 0% duty, the low case earns 33 to 41% and pays back in about a year; the high case runs from a 22% loss to breakeven. To earn 15% on a 1 t/h line at 70% utilisation, delivered flour must cost less than about USD 700 to 940 per t (our calculation; t1_margin_payback.csv) . Chinese lines are on sale in Ho Chi Minh City, yet no one has built one, which suggests the low flour price is not available for food-grade, low-temperature, often non-GMO flour (our inference). A written quote for delivered flour is the decisive number.
  • No input advantage. Vietnam crushes about 2.6 Mt of soybeans a year for feed meal and has no food-grade defatted flake stream 90 ; it grows only about 1.6% of its soybean supply (42 kt against 2.61 Mt imported in 2025; our calculation from 91,92). A Vietnamese line buys most of its cost from the countries whose product it replaces, and its net shelter from freight and duty is only about USD 30 to 130 per t (our calculation).
  • Manufacturing cost is not what blocks plant-based foods. The ex-factory cost of 3,800 to 7,900 VND per 100 g of protein is about 4 to 18 times below retail meat and egg protein (34,300 to 69,500 VND per 100 g; S12.10). Retail dried soy analogues sell at about 51,000 VND per 100 g of protein (one product) and a median of 64,584 across four products 62,63, about 6 to 17 times the ex-factory cost (our calculation). The gap is distribution, brand and retail margin, and product quality.
  • A different, dearer product. The earlier stack (3,000 t a year on one 1 t/h line, USD 792 to 2,065 per t) assumed European-scale equipment and, in its high case, a 50:50 blend of soy flour and soy protein concentrate at USD 1,300 per t. A concentrate-based texturate is a separate, dearer product; this stack covers plain flour-based TVP.

S12.17 Caveats

  1. Indicative only. Both stacks mix measured Vietnamese prices with engineering assumptions. They show which lines matter; they are not a basis for an investment decision.
  2. Capex is the swing factor for fermentation and is the least Vietnamese of the inputs. No Vietnamese fermentation or extrusion capex was found; equipment majors' Vietnamese presence was not verified (Facilities and capacity). For textured soy the swing factor is the delivered flour price, not capex; the Chinese equipment prices are list prices, not quotes.
  3. Electricity may change. A capacity charge could arrive from 2027, and Decree 278/2026 allows more frequent price moves.
  4. Fishmeal is volatile. The August 2026 price is one month's value. The comparison with fishmeal changes from 54% above to 5% above between the 2025 average and August 2026.
  5. Cooling is an estimate built from general rules and an unsourced wet-bulb assumption.
  6. Tax treatment is unresolved. Whether a new feed ingredient counts as "animal feed" for VAT, and whether a fermentation plant qualifies for high-technology CIT incentives, are open questions (S9. Regulation).
  7. Currency. All conversions use 26,000 VND per USD; the rate rose about 3 to 3.5% in 2025 30 .

Gaps and how to close them

#GapWhy it mattersCheapest way to close it
1Domestic fishmeal price by grade, domestic soybean meal and DDGS in VND/kgThe local price to beatVietnam Feed Association or AgroMonitor weekly feed bulletin; two fishmeal plants in An Giang (former Kien Giang) or Ca Mau
2Glucose syrup, bulk molasses and ammonium sulphate pricesCarbon and nitrogen lines of stack AVedan (sells glucose syrup), sugar mills, fertiliser distributors
3Construction cost per m2 for food and biotech factoriesCapexMOC Decision 409/QD-BXD, Part 2, Chapter II; construction cost guides (Cushman & Wakefield, RLB, Arcadis)
4Engineer, biotech and QA salariesLabour lineNavigos, Talentnet-Mercer or Adecco 2026 salary guides
5Natural gas and CNG prices; industrial-park steam tariffsHeat line; gas fermentationQuotes from PV GAS D and Gas South; Nhon Trach or Phu My park operators
6Logistics: trucking per tonne-km, container rates, cold chainDelivered cost to mills and exportVietnam Logistics Business Association; a forwarder quote; Drewry or Freightos spot rates
7Precision-fermentation cost benchmarksNo peer-reviewed food-protein TEA verifiedGFI APAC analyses; capacity reports; ask Liberation Bioindustries for capex
8Partly closed for dry TVP (Chinese listings, S12.11 and S12.16). Still open: firm quotes, a European-grade TVP line and plant protein isolate capexCapital line of stack B; isolate plantsRequests for quotation to three Shandong makers and one European maker; the freeze-alignment TEA full text
9Official grid emission factors for 2024 and 2025Scope 2 claimsMAE Department of Climate Change
10Whether the 8% VAT cut is extended beyond 31 December 2026 (its end date is now confirmed); whether SCP counts as feed for VATInput-VAT cost of feed-protein plants; 2027 VAT on processed foodsGeneral Department of Taxation; National Assembly session records
11Social insurance rates after the 2024 Social Insurance LawOn-cost lineRead the law and guiding decree
12Retail pangasius priceMissing protein benchmarkVASEP bulletin or a store check
13Vietnamese site values in the renewable-electricity SCP modelA sourced e-protein cost for VietnamExtract the Vietnamese grid cells from the Fasihi et al. (2025) source data
14A Vietnam-specific cooling and energy model for aerobic fermentationReplaces our rule-based estimateUniversity engineering project using measured wet-bulb data
15Delivered price of food-grade, low-temperature defatted soy flour (GMO and non-GMO)Decides the sign of the textured-soy margin (S12.16)Five written quotes CIF Cat Lai through a partner buyer, with three quotes for Chinese plain TVP

See R1. Open questions for the full register and R2. Disagreements for the conflicts on the blended power price, urea series, fishmeal price, minimum wage, capex per m3 and cooling.

  • cost_inputs.csv: 61 Vietnamese input costs (electricity tariffs and blended prices, DPPA, grid emission factor, water, heat, labour, land, taxes, logistics, exchange rate), each with date, basis, source, label and confidence.
  • commodity_prices.csv: 38 wave 1 commodity and retail protein prices (feed commodities, protein ingredients, carbon and nitrogen inputs, retail meat, eggs, tofu and analogues).
  • tea_benchmarks.csv: 25 techno-economic benchmarks with scale, metric, cost-basis year, plant grade and whether the full text was read.
  • feed_benchmarks.csv: the wave 2 fishmeal and soybean-meal series to August 2026 and prices per tonne of protein.
  • tariffs.csv: import duties on feed and food protein inputs, with ATIGA and ACFTA rates; protein_tariffs_preferential.csv holds the fuller preferential schedule and VAT notes.
  • t1_cost_per_kg.csv, t1_equipment_listings.csv, t1_landed_competitor.csv and t1_margin_payback.csv: the textured-soy cost stack, the Chinese equipment listings, the landed price of competing imports, and margins and payback at parity (S12.16).
  • outlook.csv: World Bank forecasts and power-plan targets.
  • retail_audit_summary_price_per_protein_by_type.csv: retail audit medians per 100 g of protein.
  • countries.csv: regional comparison, including the GFI APAC and Hawkwood inputs.
  • disagreements.csv and open_questions.csv: conflicting numbers and open questions.

Sources cited on this page

All sources (Appendix T)

  1. COST-26 Vietcombank. Exchange rate table. 23 Sep 2026
  2. COST-01 Ministry of Industry and Trade. Decision 1279/QD-BCT on retail electricity prices. 9 May 2025
  3. COST-02 EVN. Bieu gia ban le dien (theo Quyet dinh so 1279/QD-BCT ngay 09/5/2025)
  4. COST-03 VietNamNet. Khung gio cao diem moi: Gia dien buoi toi cao nhat len toi 5.422 dong/kWh. 2026
  5. COST-04 Nguoi Dua Tin. EVN dieu chinh gia dien giam tu 1% hoac tang tu 2% phai xin y kien. 11 Jul 2026
  6. COST-05 Tap chi Cong Thuong. Thi diem ap dung gia dien hai thanh phan tu 1/1/2026. 1/1/2026
  7. RGN-01 Morton, J., Powell, D. (GFI APAC) and Day, T. (Hawkwood Biotech). Where to Build: site selection and competitiveness in APAC fermentation manufacturing. October 2025
  8. COST-06 Arcus Energy. Decree 57/2025: Vietnam's DPPA framework explained
  9. COST-07 Baker McKenzie. Vietnam: Decree No. 243/2026/ND-CP, enhanced renewable energy DPPA framework. June 2026
  10. COST-08 Department of Climate Change (MONRE, now MAE). 3 Dec 2024
  11. COST-09 QUACERT. Uoc tinh he so phat thai khi nha kinh cua luoi dien Viet Nam 2025. Jan 2026
  12. COST-45 Jean A.B., Brown R.C. Techno-Economic Analysis of Gas Fermentation for the Production of Single Cell Protein. 2024
  13. GT-11 Prime Minister. Quyết định 768/QĐ-TTg năm 2025 phê duyệt Điều chỉnh Quy hoạch phát triển điện lực quốc gia thời kỳ 2021-2030, tầm nhìn đến năm 2050. 15 Apr 2025
  14. COST-10 Thu Vien Phap Luat. Bang gia nuoc sinh hoat o TPHCM 2026. 2026
  15. COST-12 BIWASE. Gia nuoc
  16. COST-11 Xay dung Chinh sach, Phap luat (chinhphu.vn). Ha Noi chinh thuc tang gia nuoc sach. Jul 2023
  17. COST-13 TTTFIC Group. Vietnam-Singapore 2 Industrial Park (VSIP2)
  18. COST-14 TTTFIC Group. Nam Thang Long Industrial Park, Ha Noi
  19. COST-15 Thoi bao Tai chinh Viet Nam. Gia gas ban le thang 9/2026 tiep tuc o muc cao
  20. COST-16 nhienlieulohoi.vn. Vien nen trau. 19 Dec 2025
  21. COST-17 NAAN Group. Gia vien nen go 2025. 2025
  22. IND-08 CafeBiz. Ajinomoto muon tang manh cong suat mang thuc an chan nuoi, phan bon va gia vi long tai Viet Nam. 4 December 2023
  23. COST-18 Gas South (PGS). Selling price of CNG gas in the market
  24. COST-19 Government of Viet Nam. Decree 293/2025/ND-CP on minimum wages. 10 Nov 2025
  25. COST-20 National Statistics Office. Report socio-economic performance in second quarter and the first half of 2026. 3 Jul 2026
  26. COST-21 Cushman & Wakefield. Southern Key Economic Zone Industrial MarketBeat Q2 2026. 2026
  27. COST-22 Cushman & Wakefield. Northern Key Economic Zone Industrial MarketBeat Q2 2026. 2026
  28. COST-23 Ministry of Construction. Decision 409/QD-BXD on construction investment rates for 2024. 11 Apr 2025
  29. COST-24 National Assembly. Law on Value Added Tax 48/2024/QH15. 26 Nov 2024
  30. MAC-25 Tuoi Tre. Gia nguyen lieu ha nhiet, vi sao thuc an chan nuoi van 'dung gia'?. 12 Dec 2025
  31. COST-25 National Assembly Resolution 204/2025/QH15 and Decree 174/2025/ND-CP on VAT reduction (listing)
  32. FTR-37 Government of Viet Nam. Nghị định 174/2025/NĐ-CP. 2025-06-30
  33. FTR-09 Ministry of Finance, Tax Policy Department. Công văn 17380/BTC-CST năm 2025. 2025-11-07
  34. REG2-18 Government. Nghị định 320/2025/NĐ-CP hướng dẫn Luật Thuế thu nhập doanh nghiệp. 15 Dec 2025
  35. REG2-20 World Bank. WITS TRAINS API, Viet Nam MFN applied tariff, HS 210610, 2023. 2023
  36. REG2-21 Government. Nghị định 73/2025/NĐ-CP sửa đổi mức thuế suất thuế nhập khẩu ưu đãi của một số mặt hàng. 31 Mar 2025
  37. REG2-23 World Bank. WITS TRAINS API, Viet Nam MFN applied tariff, 2023, HS 120190, 230120, 110900, 350400, 210210, 210220. 2023
  38. FTR-32 Ministry of Industry and Trade. Vietnam National Trade Repository: tariff schedules. accessed 2026-09-25
  39. FTR-33 Government of Viet Nam. Nghị định 118/2022/NĐ-CP (ACFTA 2022 to 2027). 2022-12-30
  40. COST-33 CafeF. Cang thang Trung Dong: Phan bon trong nuoc tang, nong san lai giam sau. 7 Apr 2026
  41. COST-27 World Bank Commodity Price Data via IndexMundi. Fishmeal, Peru 65%, CIF
  42. FM-01 World Bank. Commodity Price Data (The Pink Sheet). 2 Sep 2026
  43. FM-02 World Bank commodity series via IndexMundi. Fishmeal, Peru Fish meal/pellets 65% protein, CIF, USD per metric ton. Jan 2020
  44. COST-28 World Bank via IndexMundi. Soybean meal, Argentine 45/46%, CIF Rotterdam
  45. COST-31 Soybeans, US, CIF Rotterdam. World Bank via IndexMundi
  46. COST-29 World Bank via IndexMundi. Maize, US No.2, FOB Gulf
  47. COST-30 Urea, bulk, FOB. World Bank via IndexMundi
  48. COST-32 Sugar, ISA raw. World Bank via IndexMundi
  49. COST-34 CafeF. Hang tram nghin tan hang tu An Do tran sang Viet Nam voi gia re ky luc. 20 Jul 2026
  50. COST-35 USDA FAS GAIN. Vietnam Oilseeds and Products Annual, VM2026-0006. 15 Apr 2026
  51. FS-11 Nông nghiệp và Môi trường. Nguồn cung giảm mạnh, giá sắn gần gấp đôi cùng kỳ 2025. 9 April 2026
  52. FS-12 Doanh nghiệp và Đầu tư. Thị trường sắn quý I/2026: giá tăng, xuất khẩu bứt phá nhưng tiềm ẩn rủi ro. 2 April 2026
  53. FS-31 Doanh nghiệp Hội nhập. Ngành mía đường sản xuất gần 1,3 triệu tấn, áp lực tiêu thụ vẫn đè nặng. 16 July 2026
  54. FS-26 Tạp chí Công Thương. Giá lúa gạo hôm nay ngày 19/9/2026: Giá gạo Đài thơm giảm 500 đồng/kg. 19 September 2026
  55. FM-04 Mardiana. Aquafeeds in 2025: Disrupted by tariffs. 30 Jun 2026
  56. COST-36 Vietnam imports HS 3504. WITS/UN Comtrade. 2023
  57. COST-37 Vietnam imports HS 2106. WITS/UN Comtrade. 2023
  58. COST-38 Vietnam imports HS 1109. WITS/UN Comtrade. 2023
  59. COST-41 Eggs category. Bach Hoa Xanh (online)
  60. COST-40 Chicken category. Bach Hoa Xanh (online)
  61. COST-39 Pork category. Bach Hoa Xanh (online)
  62. COST-42 AltProtein Vietnam field audit, product log (Nha Trang 6 Sep 2026; HCMC 16 and 20 Sep 2026), file research/field/product_log.csv, records P086, P129, P130, P131, P153
  63. FORM-01 AltProtein Vietnam. AltProtein Vietnam retail field audit, Nha Trang 6 Sep 2026 and Ho Chi Minh City 16 and 20 Sep 2026, 186 SKUs, 11 stores. 6 to 20 Sep 2026
  64. COST-43 Risner D., McDonald K.A., Jones C.E. A techno-economic model of mycoprotein production: achieving price parity with beef protein. 2023
  65. COST-44 Vlaeminck E., Uitterhaegen E., Quataert K., et al. Single-Cell Protein Production from Industrial Off-Gas through Acetate: Techno-Economic Analysis for a Coupled Fermentation Approach. 2023
  66. COST-46 Fasihi M., Jouzi F., Tervasmaki P., et al. Global potential of sustainable single-cell protein based on variable renewable electricity. 2025
  67. COST-53 Solar Foods Oyj. Investor pages and Half-year Report H1 2026. 11 Aug 2026
  68. COST-55 Wikipedia. Calysta
  69. COST-54 Liberation Bioindustries. Press releases, GlobeNewswire (2 Jun 2025; 15 Jan 2026)
  70. COST-47 Humbird D. Scale-up economics for cultured meat. 2021
  71. COST-49 Kim S., Park K.-H., Park S.-J., et al. Cultivated Meat and the Future of Food Systems: Promise, Progress, and Challenges. 2026
  72. COST-48 Negulescu P.G., Risner D., Spang E.S., et al. Techno-economic modeling and assessment of cultivated meat: Impact of production bioreactor scale. 2023
  73. COST-56 Jarunglumlert T., Chantanuson R., Hayashi R., et al. Techno-economic assessment of plant-based meat analogue produced by the freeze alignment technique. 2023
  74. TIC-01 Made-in-China.com (Focus Technology). Textured Soy Protein Machine (hot China products). 2026
  75. TIC-02 Jinan Sunward Machinery Co., Ltd.. Turnkey Twin-Screw Textured Soy Protein Tsp Tvp Project Processing Line. 2026
  76. TIC-03 Jinan Saibainuo Extrusion Machinery Co., Ltd.. Tvp Tsp Fiber Artificial Vegetable Meat Production Plant. 2026
  77. TIC-07 Shandong Joyang Machinery Co., Ltd.. Tvp Tsp Textured Vegetable Soy Protein Soya Chunks Nuggets Minces Making Machine. 2026
  78. TIC-09 Shandong Arrow Machinery Co., Ltd.. High-Efficiency Soya Meat Analogue Extruder Machine for Plant-Based Protein Production. 2026
  79. TIC-23 Made-in-China.com (Focus Technology). Plant Based Meat Machine (hot China products). 2026
  80. SCI-45 Lertwattanasakul N et al. Genetic basis of the highly efficient yeast Kluyveromyces marxianus. 2015
  81. COST-50 Almeida Benalcazar E., van Winden W.A., Puiman L., et al. Single Cell Protein Production From Ethanol: Model-Based Bioreactor Operation at Industrial Scale. 2025
  82. COST-52 Lisicar Vukusic J., Kneer A., Mosche M., et al. Turning industrial aerobic fermentation plants into thermal power stations. 2018
  83. COST-51 Davis R., Grundl N.J., Tao L., et al. Process Design and Economics for the Conversion of Lignocellulosic Biomass to Hydrocarbon Fuels and Coproducts: 2018 Biochemical Design Case Update. 2018
  84. SCI-44 Malairuang K et al. Intensive Multiple Sequential Batch SSC of Kluyveromyces marxianus SS106 from Raw Cassava Starch. 2020
  85. TIC-12 United Nations Statistics Division (UN Comtrade). China exports to Vietnam of soy flour, soybean meal, textured protein, gluten and other proteins, 2023 to 2025. 2026
  86. TIC-13 United Nations Statistics Division (UN Comtrade). Soya bean flour and meal exports by main exporters, 2024 and 2025. 2026
  87. TIC-10 Shandong Joyang Machinery Co., Ltd.. Complete Plant-Based Meat Production Line Tvp Tsp Making Machine. 2026
  88. TIC-14 United Nations Statistics Division (UN Comtrade). China exports of textured protein and wheat gluten by partner, 2025. 2026
  89. BUY-02 United Nations Statistics Division (UN Comtrade). Exports to Vietnam of protein ingredients by reporter, 2019 to 2025 (mirror data). 2019 to 2025 data; queried 2026-09-24
  90. FORM-10 Dân Trí. TPHCM có tổ hợp ép dầu đậu nành quy mô hàng đầu Đông Nam Á. 10 Dec 2025
  91. MAC-04 USDA FAS GAIN. Vietnam: Oilseeds and Products Annual, report VM2026-0006 (Nguyen Linh). 15 Apr 2026
  92. MAC-09 Bao Ha Tinh. Viet Nam nhap khau 2,61 trieu tan dau tuong nam 2025, kim ngach dat 1,21 ty USD. 8 Mar 2026